Chat With Us

    Algoma University in Canada
    Algoma University in Canada

    Algoma University in Canada 

    Are you interested in studying at the Algoma University?
    Here is all you need to know as an international student!

    Algoma University in Canada

    Algoma University in Canada

    Canada, Abbotsford
    • Total Students
    • Total Programs
    • Established year
    • Sector
    • Institution Type
    Browse all programs (22) Browse all programs related to this institution

    Algoma University in Canada Destination

    browse other programs for Algoma University in Canada

    Algoma University in Canada Social Media

    Contact Information For Algoma University in Canada

    • Phone
      +1 705 949 2301
    • Email
      [email protected]
    • Address
      1520 Queen St E, Sault Ste. Marie, ON P6A 2G4

    About Algoma University in Canada

    Established in 1965, Algoma University is a public university located in Abbotsford, Canada.With a broad range of degree programs, it offers a unique academic and culturally immersive experience for international students.
    Established in 1965 as Algoma College, Algoma University was initially an affiliate of Laurentian University in Sudbury. In 1967, Algoma College began offering classes in portable building located at the Cambrian College site, now Sault College site. Algoma College moved into its current location, the former Shingwauk Residential School building, in 1971.

    Former students of the Shingwauk Residential School formed the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association and have helped guide the development of education on the Shingwauk site.  A provincial trust, the Shingwauk Education Trust, gives ownership of a portion of the site to Anishinaabek people, and Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig (SKG) has developed as an Anishinaabek institution for university studies on the site. Algoma signed a Covenant (PDF) in 2006 with SKG to work together for the benefit of all students of Algoma and Shingwauk.

    In 2008, Algoma University was granted its charter and with the charter, achieved full autonomous university status as Ontario’s 19th University. Algoma University now offers over 30 academic programs in a diverse range of fields and through three faculties: Faculty of Sciences, Faculty of Social Sciences and Faculty of Humanities.

    shingwauk hall in the sun

    Algoma University in Canada Programs

    Scholarships in Algoma University in Canada

    • Award of Excellence

      show more
    • Chancellor's Award

      show more
    • President's Award

      show more
    • Dean's Award

      show more
    • GCE (Cambridge/Pearson) AS and A-Level Scholarship

      show more
    • International Baccalaureate Scholarship

      show more

    Browse other university in Canada