Studying Dentistry in Jordan: Universities, Costs, Study Duration and Credit Hours

Studying Dentistry in Jordan: Universities, Costs, Study Duration and Credit Hours

Studying Dentistry in Jordan: Universities, Costs, Study Duration and Credit Hours

Published on 3-Sep-2026

Studying Dentistry in Jordan is an attractive option for international students looking to pursue a dental degree at a Jordanian university. Dentistry programs are offered by several public and private universities, with differences in tuition fees, credit hours, admission requirements, and available seats.

The Dentistry programs included in this guide generally take five years to complete. The total number of credit hours varies between universities, ranging from 200 to 214 credit hours. Tuition costs also vary significantly, making it important for international students to compare universities before choosing where to apply.

This guide explains studying Dentistry in Jordan, including the available universities, the study system, program duration, required credit hours, tuition costs for international students, admission requirements, application procedures, and the main factors students should consider before applying.

Studying Dentistry in Jordan for International Students

Jordanian universities offer Dentistry programs to both Jordanian and international students. Admission procedures depend on the type of university.

For public universities, international students generally apply through the unified electronic admission system for international students. Private universities may allow students to apply through the unified system or contact the university directly, depending on the university's current procedures.

Dentistry education typically combines basic medical sciences, dental sciences, pre-clinical training, and clinical training. Students must complete all academic and practical requirements of the program before receiving their degree.

The admission requirements, tuition fees, and number of credit hours vary between universities. Comparing these factors can help international students choose a program that matches their academic qualifications, budget, and future career plans.

Best Universities for Studying Dentistry in Jordan

The following universities are included in this guide as options for students interested in studying Dentistry in Jordan. The comparison is based on the university-specific information provided in the source data.

University Type Duration / Credit Hours International Tuition per Credit Hour Estimated Annual Cost for International Students Estimated Total Cost Minimum High School Requirement for International Students Admission Status as of September 1, 2026
The University of Jordan (UJ) Public 5 years, 210 credit hours $500 $24,530 $122,000 90% Currently unconfirmed
Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST) Public 5 years, 210 credit hours $500 $24,530 $122,000 90% Currently unconfirmed for bachelor's admission
The Hashemite University Public 5 years, 210 credit hours $320 $14,440 $72,200 96.65% Not specified
Mutah University Public 5 years, 200 credit hours $300 $13,000 $65,000 90% International program requires seat availability confirmation
Aqaba Medical Sciences University (AMSU) Private 5 years, 210 credit hours Not provided Not provided Not provided 90% Not specified
Zarqa University Private 5 years, 208 credit hours $409 Not provided Not provided 90% Requires direct confirmation
University of Petra (UOP) Private 5 years, 214 credit hours $300 $14,082 $70,410 International students may be admitted up to 10 marks below the minimum for Dentistry The program is available, but admission opening requires confirmation
Applied Science Private University (ASU) Private 5 years, 213 credit hours $423 Not provided Not provided 80% international / 85% Jordanian Currently unconfirmed
Al-Ahliyya Amman University (AAU) Private 5 years, 200 credit hours $600 Not provided Not provided 80% international / 90% Jordanian Seat availability requires confirmation
Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences (ISUMS) Private 5 years, 212 credit hours $250 $16,671.37 $83,356.84 80% international / 90% Jordanian Open for international students for 2026/2027

The University of Jordan for Studying Dentistry

The University of Jordan (UJ) is a public university in Amman offering a Doctor of Dental Surgery program.

According to the data used in this guide, the Dentistry program takes five years and consists of 210 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $500 per credit hour. The estimated annual cost for an international student is $24,530, while the total cost listed in the source data is approximately $122,000.

The minimum high school requirement for international students is 90%. The university accepts the Jordanian high school certificate or an internationally equivalent qualification, according to the program requirements.

Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST)

Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST) is a public university in Irbid offering a Dentistry program that takes five years and consists of 210 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $500 per credit hour. The estimated annual cost is $24,530, while the total cost listed in the source data is approximately $122,000.

The minimum high school requirement for international students is 90%. The university accepts the General Secondary Education Certificate or an equivalent qualification.

Admission for the bachelor's level requires current confirmation based on seat availability and the university's admission procedures.

The Hashemite University

The Hashemite University is a public university offering a five-year Dentistry program consisting of 210 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $320 per credit hour, while the tuition fee for Jordanian students listed in the source data is 150 JOD per credit hour.

The estimated annual cost for an international student is $14,440, with a total estimated cost of $72,200.

The minimum high school requirement for international students is 96.65%, and the university accepts the General Secondary Education Certificate or an equivalent qualification.

Mutah University

Mutah University is a public university offering a Dentistry program that takes five years and consists of 200 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $300 per credit hour. The estimated annual cost is $13,000, while the total estimated cost is $65,000.

The minimum high school requirement for international students is 90%. International students should confirm seat availability before applying.

Aqaba Medical Sciences University (AMSU)

Aqaba Medical Sciences University is a private university offering a Dentistry program that takes five years and consists of 210 credit hours.

According to the available source data, the minimum high school requirement for international students is 90%, and the university accepts the General Secondary Education Certificate or an equivalent qualification.

International tuition fees and total study costs were not provided in the source data. Students should therefore confirm the current fees directly with the university before applying.

Zarqa University

Zarqa University is a private university offering a five-year Dentistry program consisting of 208 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $409 per credit hour, while the tuition fee for Jordanian students listed in the source data is 300 JOD per credit hour.

The minimum high school requirement for international students is 90%. The accepted qualification is the General Secondary Education Certificate or an equivalent qualification.

Current admission availability should be confirmed directly with the university.

University of Petra (UOP)

The University of Petra is a private university in Amman offering a five-year Dentistry program consisting of 214 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $300 per credit hour. The estimated annual cost for an international student is $14,082, while the estimated total cost is $70,410.

The university accepts Jordanian and international students. According to the source data, international students applying to Dentistry may be admitted with a high school average up to 10 marks below the standard minimum requirement.

The Dentistry program is available, but students should confirm whether admission is currently open before submitting their application.

Applied Science Private University (ASU)

Applied Science Private University offers a five-year Dentistry program consisting of 213 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $423 per credit hour, while the Jordanian tuition fee listed in the source data is 296 JOD per credit hour.

The minimum requirement is 80% for international students and 85% for Jordanian students. The university accepts the Jordanian high school certificate or an equivalent qualification.

Current admission availability requires confirmation before applying.

Al-Ahliyya Amman University (AAU)

Al-Ahliyya Amman University offers a five-year Dentistry program consisting of 200 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $600 per credit hour, while the Jordanian tuition fee listed in the source data is 390 JOD per credit hour.

The minimum requirement is 80% for international students and 90% for Jordanian students. The university accepts the Jordanian high school certificate or an equivalent qualification.

International students should confirm seat availability before applying.

Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences (ISUMS)

Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences offers a five-year Doctor of Dental Surgery program consisting of 212 credit hours.

The international tuition fee is $250 per credit hour, while the tuition fee listed for Jordanian students is 250 JOD per credit hour.

The estimated annual cost for an international student is $16,671.37, while the total cost is approximately $83,356.84.

The minimum requirement is 80% for international students and 90% for Jordanian students. The accepted qualification includes the Jordanian General Secondary Education Certificate or an equivalent qualification, particularly from the scientific stream or medical field.

According to the source data, admission is open for international students for the 2026/2027 academic year.

How Long Does Studying Dentistry Take in Jordan?

The Dentistry programs included in this guide all have a five-year academic duration.

The number of credit hours varies by university, ranging from 200 to 214 credit hours.

Students should also distinguish between the academic duration of the degree and any additional internship, licensing, or professional requirements that may apply after graduation.

How Many Credit Hours Are Required for Studying Dentistry in Jordan?

The number of credit hours required depends on the university. Based on the universities included in this guide, the programs range from 200 to 214 credit hours.

University Credit Hours Program Duration
The University of Jordan 210 5 years
Jordan University of Science and Technology 210 5 years
The Hashemite University 210 5 years
Mutah University 200 5 years
Aqaba Medical Sciences University 210 5 years
Zarqa University 208 5 years
University of Petra 214 5 years
Applied Science Private University 213 5 years
Al-Ahliyya Amman University 200 5 years
Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences 212 5 years

How Much Does Studying Dentistry Cost in Jordan for International Students?

The cost of studying Dentistry in Jordan varies significantly between universities. It depends on the tuition fee per credit hour, the total number of credit hours, and additional university fees.

Among the universities for which complete annual and total cost estimates are available in the source data, the following figures are listed:

University Estimated Annual Cost Estimated Total Cost
The University of Jordan $24,530 $122,000
Jordan University of Science and Technology $24,530 $122,000
The Hashemite University $14,440 $72,200
Mutah University $13,000 $65,000
University of Petra $14,082 $70,410
Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences $16,671.37 $83,356.84

For universities where annual or total costs were not provided, students should not rely on estimates without confirming the current official tuition structure.

International students should also budget for expenses beyond tuition, including accommodation, food, transportation, insurance, study materials, and personal expenses.

International Tuition Fees for Studying Dentistry in Jordan

University Jordanian Tuition per Credit Hour International Tuition per Credit Hour
The University of Jordan 40 JOD $500
Jordan University of Science and Technology 200 JOD parallel program $500
The Hashemite University 150 JOD $320
Mutah University 150 JOD $300
Aqaba Medical Sciences University 200 JOD Not provided
Zarqa University 300 JOD $409
University of Petra 250 JOD $300
Applied Science Private University 296 JOD $423
Al-Ahliyya Amman University 390 JOD $600
Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences 250 JOD $250

Admission Requirements for Studying Dentistry in Jordan for International Students

The minimum high school requirement varies between universities. Students should also check whether their specific secondary school certificate is accepted and whether additional equivalency requirements apply.

University Minimum Requirement for International Students
The University of Jordan 90%
Jordan University of Science and Technology 90%
The Hashemite University 96.65%
Mutah University 90%
Aqaba Medical Sciences University 90%
Zarqa University 90%
University of Petra International students may be admitted up to 10 marks below the minimum for Dentistry
Applied Science Private University 80% international / 85% Jordanian
Al-Ahliyya Amman University 80% international / 90% Jordanian
Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences 80% international / 90% Jordanian

Meeting the minimum academic requirement does not necessarily guarantee admission. Admission may also depend on available seats, document verification, and other university-specific requirements.

What High School Certificate Is Accepted for Studying Dentistry in Jordan?

The universities included in this guide generally accept the General Secondary Education Certificate or an equivalent qualification.

Depending on the university and the student's educational background, international students may need to provide an officially recognized equivalent of their secondary school certificate.

Some Dentistry programs also require the student to have completed a scientific or medical-related secondary school track. Students should therefore verify that their high school stream qualifies them for Dentistry before submitting an application.

Documents Required for Studying Dentistry in Jordan

The exact documentation varies by university and nationality, but the main documents listed in the source data include:

  • High school certificate or equivalent qualification.
  • High school transcript.
  • Valid passport.
  • Personal photographs.
  • Birth certificate, when required.
  • Officially authenticated documents.
  • Proof of identity, when required.
  • No-objection or other nationality-specific documents, when applicable.

International students should prepare their documents early because certificates issued outside Jordan may require authentication, translation, or equivalency procedures before admission can be completed.

Is Admission for Studying Dentistry Currently Open in Jordan?

Admission availability varies from one university to another and can change depending on the number of available seats.

According to the source data dated September 1, 2026, Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences is listed as open for international students for the 2026/2027 academic year. Several other universities require students to confirm current admission availability or seat availability directly with the university.

Students should therefore verify the current status of the Dentistry program before paying fees or submitting final documents.

How to Apply for Studying Dentistry in Jordan

The first step is to compare universities based on academic requirements, tuition fees, credit hours, location, and admission availability.

After choosing suitable universities, students should check the required documents and confirm that their secondary school certificate qualifies for admission to Dentistry.

International students applying to public universities generally use the unified electronic admission system for international students. Private universities may allow applications through the same system or directly through the university, depending on the institution's procedures.

Students can submit their applications themselves without relying on an intermediary. They should always use the official admission channels and verify the latest requirements before completing the application.

Why Choose Studying Dentistry in Jordan?

Jordan offers international students several options for studying Dentistry through both public and private universities. These universities differ in tuition fees, admission requirements, credit hours, and location, allowing students to compare different academic and financial options.

The Dentistry programs combine academic study with practical and clinical components, providing students with training in both the scientific foundations of Dentistry and the skills required for clinical practice.

However, tuition cost should not be the only factor when choosing a Dentistry program. Students should also consider program recognition, clinical training, university requirements, and the professional licensing requirements of the country where they plan to practice after graduation.

Frequently Asked Questions About Studying Dentistry in Jordan

How many years does studying Dentistry in Jordan take?

The Dentistry programs included in this guide take five years to complete academically.

How many credit hours are required for studying Dentistry in Jordan?

The programs listed in this guide range from 200 to 214 credit hours, depending on the university.

What is the cheapest university for studying Dentistry in Jordan for international students?

Among the universities for which annual and total costs are available in the source data, Mutah University has the lowest listed estimated cost, at approximately $13,000 per year and $65,000 in total.

Which university has the lowest international tuition fee per credit hour for Dentistry?

Based on the source data, Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences has one of the lowest listed international tuition fees, at $250 per credit hour.

Which university has the highest minimum high school requirement for studying Dentistry?

The Hashemite University has the highest minimum requirement listed in the comparison, at 96.65% for international students.

Can international students study Dentistry in Jordan?

Yes. The universities included in this guide accept international students according to their individual admission requirements, available seats, and applicable admission procedures.

Is admission for studying Dentistry currently open in Jordan?

Admission availability depends on the university and available seats. According to the source data dated September 1, 2026, Ibn Sina University for Medical Sciences is listed as open for international students for the 2026/2027 academic year, while several other universities require current confirmation.

What is the minimum high school average required for international students studying Dentistry?

The minimum requirement varies by university. In the comparison data, the listed requirements range from 80% to 96.65%, with special admission conditions applying at some universities.

What documents are required to apply for studying Dentistry in Jordan?

Common documents include a high school certificate, transcript, passport, personal photographs, and authenticated documents. Some students may also need a birth certificate, proof of identity, or nationality-specific documents.

Do international students need an agent to apply for studying Dentistry in Jordan?

No. International students can apply through the official admission channels. Students should use the official university or government admission systems and verify the latest application requirements before submitting their applications.

What should students consider before choosing a university for studying Dentistry in Jordan?

Students should compare tuition fees, total credit hours, minimum admission requirements, accepted high school qualifications, admission availability, required documents, clinical training, program recognition, and professional licensing requirements after graduation.

Studying Dentistry in Jordan with YouApply

YouApply can help students explore university and program options and compare available study opportunities before choosing where to apply.

Students should always verify the latest tuition fees, admission requirements, seat availability, and application deadlines with the university before making a final decision.

WhatsApp student consultation with YouApply